• December, Congratulations to Sukrant Dhawan on joining AAQRL!​
  • November, Prof. Pratim Biswas received Harry J White Award from the International Society for Electrostatic Precipitation for his notable contribution in the field of electrostatic precipitation technology. 
  • July, Congratulations to Corban Swain (First Place Winner) and Caroline Avery (Second Place Winner) in the Poster Competition for the Wustl UG Research Interns!
  • July, A novel hybrid nanomaterial developed to transform water includes graphene oxide sheets synthesized by researchers in AAQRL.
  • April, Nanoparticles synthesized by researchers in AAQRL offer a sustainable way​ to grow food crops.
  • April, ​AAQRL members receive SEAS Awards: Ted Cohen (SS and IMF Marsden Senior Prize), Begum Karakocak (Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award), and Shalinee Kavadiya (Graduate Student Research Award). Congratulations!
  • February, Congratulations to Begüm​ and Kelsey on successfully defending their proposal!
  • January, Congratulations to Yi Jiang for winning the ACS Environmental Chemistry Division Award! Great work Yi!
  • January, novel nanoparticles synthesized in AAQRL are shown to inhibit the growth of cancer tumors in vivo.​


  • December, Congratulations to Shalinee, Yao, and Ahmed on successfully defending their proposal. 
  • December, Center for Multiple Myeloma Nanotherapy has been awarded $13.7 million from the National Cancer Institute.
  • December, Biswas group research on the application of nano-sized nutrients to improve produce growth is featured by the National Science Foundation, USA.
  • November, Welcome to new lab members Girish Sharma, Clatyon Kacica, and Kristen Mills. 
  • November, Nathan Reed and Kelsey Haddad placed second in the  Boeing Patent Challenge.  For this competition, Boeing Phantom Works Ventures and the Skandalaris Center at Washington University teamed up to mentor a patent commercialization challenge based on Boeing intellectual property.  Nathan and Kelsey’s group, Nano Syntech, uses a proprietary material system designed to continuously and autonomously charge wearable fitness devices.​
  • September, Dr. Biswas wins the Lawrence K. Cecil Award in Environmental Chemical Engineering​ from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. This award recognizes an individual's outstanding chemical engineering contribution and achievement in the preservation or improvement of the environment. 
  • June, Ramesh Raliya received the Gordon Research Conference Chair travel award to present a​t the conference entitled "Nanoscale Science & Engineering for Agriculture & Food Systems" at Bentley University in Waltham, MA.
  • June, Applied Particle Technology, a startup company originating from technology developed in AAQRL, was one of 11 award-winners in the 2015 Arch Grants Global Startup Competition. 
  • May, ​Bharatkumar Suthar, Jiaxi Fang, He Jing, Tandeep Singh Chadha, and Yi Jiang were hooded at the Washington University in St. Louis Commencement.
  • April, As part of a collaboration across research labs at Washington University in St. Louis and Korea University, members of the AAQRL lab helped to develop copper oxide nanowires as a catalyst to convert carbon dioxide into carbon monoxide. The results of the work were published Feb. 27 in ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces
  • April, Nathan Reed joined IDEA Labs​, a bioengineering design and entrepreneurship incubator as Washington University, as the Product Coordinator for NeuraLink. NeuraLink is an implantable wireless data link for chronic neural recording and stimulation with applications in spinal cord injury, prosthetic limbs and​ neural research. 
  • February, Miguel Vazquez Pufleau passed his proposal defense on Applications of aerosol technologies in the silicon industry​. 
  • January, Prof. Biswas named Editor-In-Chief of Journal of Aerosol, Elsevier Publications​. This premiere​ journal focuses on fundamental and applied aerosol research.
  • January, Ahmed Abokifa travels to the USEPA in Cincinnati, OH to test drinking water quality simulation models developed at AAQRL. The models are focused on residential distribution network flow demands in a real-time framework. This work is in collaboration with the Greater Cincinnati Water Works (GCWW). ​


  • November, Dr. Biswas was featured on St. Louis Public Radio in a discussion about the conversion of landfill gas to useable gas
  • November, AAQRL welcomes 3 new lab members (Nathan Reed, Jiayu Li, Zhichao Li)
  • October, WUSTL hosts the 5th International Symposium on the Role of Research Universities in Addressing Global Challenges, where many AAQRL members played an active role in directing dialogue
  • July, EECE department welcomes two new professors in the Aerosols Cluster (Dr. Rajan Chakrabarty and Dr. Elijah Thimsen)
  • May, Congratulations to Dr. Vivek Shah who successfully​ defended his thesis entitled: Aerosol Techniques for Deposition and Characterization of Biological and Biomimetic Sensitizers for Solar Device​
  • January, Dr. Pratim Biswas and Dr. John Fortner featured in the Times of India after presenting on zero liquid discharge technologies for industry representatives, policy makers, consultants and regulators





​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​